Jerry Craft Signing (Poster)

The Million Year Picnic is delighted to announce that Jerry Craft (https://jerrycraft.com/, @JerryCraft) will be stopping by the shop to sign books and talk to fans on Sunday, 11 August 2019, from 1-2pm.

Jerry Craft is an author and illustrator who has worked on numerous picture books, graphic novels, and middle grade novels for publishers such as HarperCollins, Scholastic, Benchmark, Pearson and his own publishing company, Mama’s Boyz, Inc. His newest book, NEW KID (HarperCollins), is a middle grade graphic novel that has earned four starred reviews, including one from Booklist magazine that called it “Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.” Kirkus Reviews called it “An engrossing, humorous, and vitally important graphic novel that should be required reading in every middle school in America.”

In 2014, Jerry earned recognition from the Junior Library Guild for illustrating The Zero Degree Zombie Zone, written by Patrik Henry Bass and published by Scholastic. His middle grade novel, which he co-wrote with his two sons Jaylen & Aren Craft, THE OFFENDERS: SAVING THE WORLD WHILE SERVING DETENTION!, is an action / adventure story designed to teach kids about the negative effects of bullying. It was chosen by PACER.ORG as one of the best middle grade books on bullying.

Jerry’s illustrations have also appeared in national publications such as Essence magazine as well as comic books, greeting cards, book covers, and board games.

Jerry is also the creator of MAMA’S BOYZ, an award-winning comic strip that was distributed by King Features Syndicate from 1995 – 2013; making him one of the few syndicated African-American cartoonists in the country. MAMA’S BOYZ follows the lives of Pauline Porter, a widow raising her two teenage sons (Tyrell and Yusuf) while also running the family bookstore. Jerry has won five African American Literary Award Show Open Book Awards for “best comic strip” (2013, 2012, 2011, 2009 & 2004).

Jerry is a graduate of the School of Visual Arts where he received his BFA degree in advertising. After working in the ad world for a dozen years as a copywriter, he got his first job as a cartoonist working as an assistant to Barbara Slate on a variety of comic books and graphic novels for Marvel and Harvey Comics, including Sweet 16 and New Kids on the Block. This was followed by eight years at King Features Syndicate where he wrote sales brochures for some of the world’s most popular comic strips. Before stepping out on his own, he was the Editorial Director for the Sports Illustrated for Kids website where he was nominated for a New Media Award by the National Cartoonists Society for his series of popular Flash cartoons.

He is a co-founder and co-producer of the Schomburg’s Annual Black Comic Book Festival which has drawn close to 50,000 fans since its inception in 2013. Jerry was born in Harlem and grew up in nearby Washington Heights. He is a graduate of The Fieldston School and received his B.F.A. from the School of Visual Arts.

NEW KID

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, NEW KID is a timely, honest novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Weekly Shiplist for Wednesday, 15 May 2019

REMINDER! Sarah Winifred Searle will be signing copies of SINCERELY, HARRIET at the shop on Saturday, 5/18, from 12-2pm! More details here!

2000 AD PACK APRIL 2019
ABERRANT VOL 01 (MR)
ADVENTURE TIME MARCY & SIMON #5 (OF 6)
AGE OF X-MAN MARVELOUS X-MEN #4 (OF 5)
AGE OF X-MAN NEXTGEN #4 (OF 5)
ALL TIME COMICS ZEROSIS DEATHSCAPE #0 (MR)
AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #21
AMAZING SPIDER-MAN EPIC COLLECTION TP ASSASSIN NATION
AMAZING SPIDER-MAN ULT NEWSPAPER COMICS HC VOL 05 1985-1986
AMERICAN CARNAGE #7 (MR)
ANNE HAPPY GN VOL 09 UNHAPPY GO LUCKY
AQUAMAN #48
ARCHIE GIANT COMICS GALA GN
ATHENA VOLTAIRE GOLDEN DAWN TP
AVATAR THE LAST AIRBENDER IMBALANCE PART TWO TP
BATGIRL TP VOL 05 ART OF THE CRIME
BATMAN #71
BETTY & VERONICA JUMBO COMICS DIGEST #273
BITTER ROOT TP VOL 01 FAMILY BUSINESS
BLACK BADGE #10
BLACK WIDOW #5
BLOODBORNE #12 (MR)
BLUES FOR LADY DAY GN STORY OF BILLIE HOLIDAY
CALAMITY KATE #3
CAMP GN
CAPTAIN MARVEL #1 3RD Printing
CAPTAIN MARVEL #2 2ND Printing
CASPER CAPERS #4
CHIOS SCHOOL ROAD GN VOL 04
CINEMA PURGATORIO #18 (MR)
CREEPS #19 (MR)
DAREDEVIL #5
DC COMICS DETECTIVE COMICS COMP COVERS MINI HC VOL 02
DIDNT I SAY MAKE MY ABILITIES AVERAGE GN VOL 03
DOCTOR WHO MAGAZINE SPECIAL #52
EERIE ARCHIVES HC VOL 26
FAIRLADY #2
FARMHAND #8 (MR)
FIREFLY #6
GANTZ OMNIBUS TP VOL 03
GENDER QUEER MEMOIR GN
GIANT MAN #1 (OF 3)
GIDEON FALLS #13 (MR)
GLITCH GN VOL 01
GO GO POWER RANGERS #20
GOLD DIGGER #263
GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY #5
HIGH LEVEL #4 (MR)
HORROR OF COLLIER COUNTY HC
I AM KIND ABE LINCOLN BOARD BOOK
I AM UNSTOPPABLE AMELIA EARHART BOARD BOOK
IMMORTAL HULK #17
IMMORTAL HULK TP VOL 03 HULK IN HELL
INFINITY 8 #12 (MR)
IRONHEART #6
JAMES BOND 007 #7
JOE GOLEM OCCULT DETECTIVE CONJURORS #1
JUDGE DREDD MEGAZINE #407
JUSTICE LEAGUE #24
KAIJUMAX SEASON 4 #6 (OF 6) (MR)
KICK-ASS #14 (MR)
LAST STOP ON RED LINE #1
LIFE & DEATH OF TOYO HARADA #3 (OF 6)
LITTLE BIRD #3 (OF 5) (MR)
LIVEWIRE #6
LOW #22 (MR)
LUCIFER #8 (MR)
LUMBERJANES #62
MARVEL ACTION SPIDER-MAN #4
MCMLXXV TP
MILK & CHEESE DAIRY PRODUCTS GONE BAD TP (Offered Again)
MMW INVINCIBLE IRON MAN HC VOL 12 DM VAR ED 275
MORNING IN AMERICA #3
NAOMI #5
NEIL GAIMAN AMERICAN GODS MOMENT OF STORM #2
NIGHTWING #60
OBLIVION SONG BY KIRKMAN & DE FELICI #15 (MR)
OLD MAN QUILL #5 (OF 12)
ON THE RUN IN ANCIENT CHINA GN
OUTER DARKNESS TP VOL 01 (MR)
OUTPOST ZERO TP VOL 02
OVERLORD GN VOL 10 (MR)
OVERLORD LIGHT NOVEL HC VOL 10 (MR)
PEANUT BUTTER GN VOL 04 FULL COLOR (Offered Again) (A)
PEANUT BUTTER GN VOL 05 (Offered Again) (A)
PEARL #9 (MR)
PLANET OF THE NERDS #2 (MR)
PORT OF EARTH #10
PRINCELESS BOOK 8 PRINCESSES #2
RAT QUEENS TP VOL 06 INFERNAL PATH (MR)
RONIN BY FRANK MILLER TP BLACK LABEL
SABRINA TEENAGE WITCH #2 (OF 5)
SAGA MARKO & ALANA #1 COVER T-Shirt Small-XXXL
SAGA PRINCE ROBOT T-Shirt Medium-XL
SAILOR MOON ETERNAL ED VOL 04
SAMURAI CHEF TP
SCIENCE COMICS CARS ENGINES THAT MOVE YOU SC GN
SILENT INVASION GN VOL 02 GREAT FEAR
SKYWARD #13
SPIDER-MAN LIFE STORY #3 (OF 6)
STAR WARS #66
STAR WARS AGE OF REPUBLIC TP HEROES
STAR WARS AOR LANDO CALRISSIAN #1
STAR WARS HAN SOLO IMPERIAL CADET TP
STAR WARS TIE FIGHTER #2 (OF 5)
SUPERMAN #11
SUPERMAN THE GOLDEN AGE NEWSPAPER DAILIES HC 1947-1949
SWORD DAUGHTER HC VOL 02 FOLDED METAL
TEEN TITANS #30 TERMINUS AGENDA
TEEN TITANS GO #34
TRUE BELIEVERS LUKE CAGE POWER MAN PIRANHA #1
UNCANNY X-MEN #18
USAGI YOJIMBO SAGA LTD ED HC VOL 08
USAGI YOJIMBO SAGA TP VOL 08
VENOM #12 2ND Printing
WAR OF REALMS #4 (OF 6) WR
WAR OF REALMS SPIDER-MAN & LEAGUE OF REALMS #1 (OF 3)
WAR OF REALMS STRIKEFORCE WAR AVENGERS #1 WR
WOLF CHILDREN AME & YUKI LIGHT NOVEL HC
WORMWORLD SAGA TP VOL 03 KINGSPEAK
XENA WARRIOR PRINCESS #2


(A) = Adult Readers
GN = Graphic Novel
HC = Hardcover
(MR) = Mature Readers
OGN = Original Graphic Novel (never released as issues)
SC = Softcover
TP = Trade Paperback
YR = Young Reader

Thank you!
Million Year Picnic
99 MT Auburn ST downstairs
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-492-6763